In Growing Marijuana in West Virginia – WV Cannabis State Laws (2021) we gave a brief overview on how West Virginia residents can apply to their state’s medical marijuana program. Recreational marijuana is still illegal in the Mountain State so if you are a patient with a debilitating condition, you have no choice but to apply for a medical marijuana card.
- Overview of Medical Marijuana in West Virginia
- Why should you get a marijuana card in West Virginia
- How to get a medical marijuana card in West Virginia
- Frequently Asked Questions on Getting a West Virginia Medical Marijuana Card
Overview of Medical Marijuana in West Virginia
In 2017, Gov. Jim Justice signed into law SB 386 which allowed medical marijuana in West Virginia. The law was somewhat restrictive since it only allowed cannabis in the form of pils, oils, topical forms (gels, creams or ointments), medically appropriate forms of vaporization or nebulization; tincture; liquid; or dermal patch. It was only in 2020 when SB 339 was passed that “dry leaf or plant form.” was allowed. Furthermore, it was only in 2019 that the law took effect to allow patients and caregivers to get medical marijuana cards for buying at dispensaries.
You can read up on Ohio’s medical marijuana rules here: CHAPTER 16A. MEDICAL CANNABIS ACT.
West Virginia’s medical marijuana now allows patients to purchase a 30-day supply of marijuana which is an amount determined by the certifying physician. Home cultivation is still not allowed.
To qualify, a patient must have at least one of the following conditions:
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Crohn’s disease
- Huntington’s disease
- Intractable seizures
- Multiple sclerosis
- Neuropathies (chronic nerve pain)
- Parkinson’s disease
- Post-traumatic stress disorder
- Severe chronic or intractable pain
- Spinal cord damage
- Sickle cell anemia.
- Terminally illness
To qualify, your physician must certify that you have at least one qualifying condition. If your condition is not listed, you may petition for it to be added using this form and sending it to the following address:
West Virginia Office of Medical Cannabis
350 Capitol Street, Room 523
Charleston, West Virginia 25301
Patients under the age of 18 may also apply to West Virginia’s Medical Marijuana Program as long as they do it with the help and permission of their parents or legal guardians. They are also required to have at least one caregiver.
Those who wish to apply as a primary caregiver in West Virginia must only be at least 21 years old. They must also be willing to undergo a criminal background check.
A caregiver may provide service to no more than five (5) patients while patients may have up to 2 caregivers.
Why should you get a marijuana card in West Virginia
Recreational cannabis is still illegal in West Virginia so a medical marijuana card is the only way patients can use cannabis for their conditions legally.
How to get a medical marijuana card in West Virginia
Applying to West Virginia’s medical marijuana program is fairly simple and can be done completely online. If you are qualified and would like to apply, here are the steps you should follow:
For patients, minor patients and caregivers
- Consult with a physician licensed to issue a medical marijuana certification in West Virginia. If your condition qualifies, your physician will fill out the Patient Certification form and send it directly to the Office of Medical Cannabis. You can find a list of licensed practitioners here.
- Once your physician has approved your application, you may proceed to apply for a Patient Card online by registering for an account on the state’s Complia portal. Make sure you can provide the following:
- Once you’ve submitted all the required information and uploaded the necessary documents in your application in the Complia portal, you will get a 4 digit Application ID number which you will include in the memo line when sending payment to the Office of Medical Cannabis. Use the same address for sending qualifying condition petitions when sending payment.
Medical marijuana Patient ID cards cost $50. You should receive a notification by email within 30 to 60 days if your application has been approved or denied. If approved, you should receive your card shortly after.
Frequently Asked Questions on Getting a West Virginia Medical Marijuana Card
Having an West Virginia medical marijuana ID card is the only way patients in the state with a debilitating condition will be able to legally use medical marijuana.
Patients in West Virginia who have at least one qualifying condition may apply for a medical marijuana card.
A medical marijuana card is the only way patients with a debilitating condition can use cannabis in West Virginia. Getting a WV Patient card is also affordable, making it a good alternative to expensive pain medications.
It can take the WV Office of Medical Cannabis 30 to 60 days to review your application and send you your Patient ID card.
It costs $50 for patients and caregivers to apply for a medical marijuana card in West Virginia but those who can provide proof of financial hardship may apply for waived fees.
Home cultivation is still not allowed in West Virginia.
West Virginia’s medical marijuana now allows patients to purchase a 30-day supply of marijuana.
If you’re a patient in West Virginia who needs marijuana for your condition, you’ll need to apply into the state’s medical marijuana program. Compared to other states, it’s fairly simple to get a VW Patient card since you basically just need your physician to confirm your qualifying condition. Once you are certified, your physician will be the one to upload your certification and you merely need to enter additional information into the system and pay the fee. The fees are also fairly reasonable and can even be waived for those who can show proof of financial hardship. This makes it a very attractive alternative especially for those on expensive medication.