How To Get A Medical Marijuana Card in Virginia 2022

Are You Ready to Start Growing Yourself?

If you're ready to start growing and want to find out the best seedbanks that ship to the U.S. click here.

In Growing Marijuana in Virginia – VA Cannabis State Laws (2021) we gave a brief overview on how Virginia residents can apply to their state’s medical marijuana program. Recreational marijuana is now legal in the Old Dominion but if you are a patient with a debilitating condition, there might be a few reasons why you would still want to get a medical marijuana card.

Overview of Medical Marijuana in Virginia

In 1979, legislation allowing the use of marijuana for glaucoma and chemotherapy sickness was passed in Virginia. However, the law could not give patients access to cannabis medication since federal law prohibited healthcare providers from prescribing marijuana. 

In 2015, Governor Terry McAuliffe signed into law HB 1445 and SB 1235 which created an affirmative defense for those possessing CBD or THC-A oils for epilepsy treatment with a doctor’s recommendation. The state’s medical marijuana rules were further expanded in 2018 when HB 1251 was passed. The bill allowed qualified healthcare practitioners to recommend medical marijuana to whatever condition they deemed it fit. However, it was only in 2021 when the use of whole plant cannabis was allowed under HB 2218 and SB1333. In 2020, the passage of SB 1015 also protected patients from arrest and prosecution.

You can read up on a summary of Virginia’s medical marijuana rules here: Virginia’s Medical Cannabis Law – MPP.org

Virginia’s medical marijuana allows patients to buy up to four ounces of botanical marijuana every 30 days or a 90-day supply of cannabis product that contains no more than 10 mg of THC. The cultivation limit for medical and recreational marijuana is the same: 4 plants per household.  

Qualifying conditions 

Similar to Washington DC, Virginia also doesn’t have a list of qualifying conditions. Instead, it is the healthcare provider that determines if the patient’s condition can be alleviated by marijuana medication. 

Minor patients may also apply to Virginia’s Medical Cannabis Program but it is their designated caregiver, which is their parent or legal guardian, who must apply on their behalf. 

Caregivers

Those who wish to apply as a primary caregiver or “registered agent” in Virginia must be at least 18 years of age. A caregiver or “registered agent” may provide care for up to 2 patients.

Why should you get a marijuana card in Virginia

Registering for a medical marijuana card is the only way minors with debilitating conditions can use cannabis legally. Medical marijuana is also exempted from taxes, making it cheaper.  

How to get a medical marijuana card in Virginia

Applying to the medical marijuana program in Virginia is fairly simple and can be done completely online or sent via mail. If you are qualified and would like to apply, here are the steps you should follow:

For patients, minor patients, and caregivers

  1. Get a written certification from a healthcare practitioner certified by the Virginia Board of Pharmacy
  2. Once you have your certification, create an account on Initial Applications Site. In addition to your certification, prepare the following documents for upload:
    • Proof of residency of the patient and parent/legal guardian. (ex. government-issued ID, Driver’s license, tax receipt)
    • Proof of identity (ex. government ID, Driver’s license). If a minor applicant, submit the parent’s or legal guardian’s proof of identity.
    • Proof of age (ex. Government ID, Driver’s license, birth certificate)

Caregivers or registered agents have to email, fax, or mail their proof of identity, residency, and age to:

Virginia Board of Pharmacy
Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, VA 23233
Fax – (804) 527-4472
Email: cbd@dhp.virginia.gov

The cost of registering into Virginia’s medical marijuana program is $50 for patients and $25 for caregivers and can be paid online or by check or money order. Applications are processed within 30 days and once you have been approved, you will receive your medical marijuana card in the mail shortly after.

Frequently Asked Questions on Getting a Virginia Medical Marijuana Card

Why do I need to medical marijuana card?

Having a Virginia medical marijuana ID card is the only way minor patients in the state with a debilitating condition can legally use medical marijuana.

Who is eligible for medical marijuana card?

Patients in Virginia may apply for a medical marijuana card as long as their physician recommends it for their condition. There are no qualifying conditions in the state’s medical marijuana program.

Why would I want a medical marijuana card?

A medical marijuana card is the only way minor patients with a debilitating condition can use cannabis in Virginia . Getting a Patient card is also free and is a good way to get cheaper medical marijuana which is exempted from sales tax.

How long does the process take?

It can take the Virginia Board of Pharmacy 30 days to process and application. Once you have been approved, you will receive your medical marijuana card in the mail shortly after.

How much does it cost to obtain a medical marijuana card?

Aside from the healthcare provider fees, it costs $50 for patients and $25 for caregivers to get a medical marijuana card in Virginia.

How many plants can I grow with medical marijuana card?

Registered patients in Virginia may grow up to 4 plants per household regardless of the number of adults residing there.

How much marijuana can I keep with medical marijuana card?

Virginia’s medical marijuana allows patients to buy up to four ounces of botanical marijuana every 30 days or a 90-day supply of cannabis product that contains no more than 10 mg of THC. The cultivation limit for medical and recreational marijuana is the same: 4 plants per household.  

Conclusion

If you’re a patient in Virginia who needs marijuana for your condition, applying for a Patient Card is a good option if you want to save on medication costs since medical marijuana is exempted from taxes in the state. It is also the only option for minor patients who need to use cannabis legally. The process of getting one is also easier compared to other states since there is no list of qualifying conditions constraining the physician from issuing a certification. Application and renewal fees are also significantly cheaper compared to other states.

Thinking About Growing Your Own?

Check out this post where I go into the details about equipment, seeds and the reasons why I got started in this journey.

Leave a Comment