In Growing Marijuana in Vermont – VT Cannabis State Laws (2021) we gave a brief overview on how Vermont residents can apply to their state’s medical marijuana program. Recreational marijuana is already legal in The Green Mountain State but there are a few reasons that you may want to consider registering for a medical marijuana card.
Overview of Medical Marijuana in Vermont
In May 2004, medical marijuana was legalized in Vermont through SB 76 and was later expanded by SB 7 in 2007.
You can read up on the law here: CHAPTER 86. THERAPEUTIC USE OF CANNABIS.
Vermont’s medical marijuana law allows patients to possess 2 ounces and cultivate up to 2 mature cannabis plants and 7 immature ones.
To qualify, a patient must have at least one of the following conditions:
- Any patient receiving hospice care
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Crohn’s disease
- HIV or AIDS
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Parkinson’s disease
- Severe or chronic pain
- Severe nausea
If your condition is not listed above, you may consult with a physician to see if your health issue that causes chronic pain will get better with the use of medical marijuana. If you are able to get a written certification from your healthcare provider, you may be able to get medical marijuana without breaking the law.
Even minors afflicted with a condition that need medical marijuana can register for the program but they must designate a custodial parent or legal guardian as their primary caregiver or authorized purchaser.
Those who want to apply as a caregiver in Vermont must be a resident at least 21 years of age and must meet the criminal history record eligibility standards for approval. Patients can be caregivers to others but not to themselves and minors may have up to 2 caregivers.
Why should you get a medical marijuana card in Vermont
A medical marijuana card is the only way minor patients can use cannabis medication in Vermont will have to register for a medical marijuana card. Medical cannabis is also exempted from Vermont’s Sales and Use tax.
How to get a medical marijuana card in Vermont
Applying to Vermont’s medical marijuana program is fairly simple. You can submit your completed forms, requirements and payment online or by US mail. If you are qualified and would like to apply, here are the steps you should follow:
For patients, minor patients, and caregivers
- Prepare a digital photo that fits the requirements of the VMR as follows:
- In color
- Taken within the last 6 months
- A clear image of you only
- Full face-and-shoulder shot, squarely facing the camera
- Print out the Patient Registration Application Form which includes the following forms:
- Registered Caregiver Designation Form
- Healthcare Professional Verification Form (your doctor will fill this out)
- Mental Health Care Provider Form (required for those with PTSD as a qualifying condition)
Fill out the required forms for you application and pay the $50 fee for patient and caregiver applications.
You may have your Healthcare Professional Verification Form filled out by physicians, osteopathic physicians, naturopathic physicians, physician assistants, advanced practice registered nurses (APRN/nurse practitioners) licensed in the state and New Hampshire, Massachusetts, or New York.
For the Mental Health Care Provider Form, you may consult with a doctor who specializes in the practice of psychiatry; a psychologist, a psychologist-doctorate, or a psychologist-master, or clinical social worker/mental health counselor.
Send the completed forms, requirements, and payment to:
Department of Public Safety
45 State Drive
Waterbury, VT 05671-1300
The Vermont Medical Marijuana Registry will approve or deny an application in writing within 30 days of your submission.
Frequently Asked Questions on Getting a Vermont Medical Marijuana Card
Having a Vermont medical marijuana ID card is the only way minor patients in the state with a debilitating condition will be able to legally use medical marijuana.
Patients in Vermont who have at least one qualifying condition may apply for a Vermont Marijuana Registry ID card.
A medical marijuana card is the only way minor patients with a debilitating condition can use cannabis in Vermont. Medical cannabis is also exempted from sales and use tax, making it cheaper.
It can take up to 30 days for the Vermont Marijuana Registry to approve or decline your application.
It costs $50 for patients or caregivers to apply for a medical marijuana card in Vermont’s medical marijuana program.
Registered patients in Vermont may grow up to 2 mature plants and 7 immature ones.
Vermont’s medical marijuana law allows registered patients and their caregivers to possess up to 2 ounces.
If you’re a patient in Vermont who needs marijuana for your condition, it may benefit you to register for a medical marijuana card if you need quantities greater than the recreational limit, or you are a minor patient. Recreational users are only allowed to possess up to one ounce and two mature plants and 4 immature ones and the weed they can buy is also subject to more taxes. At $50, registering for a Vermont medical marijuana card is more affordable compared to other states so you should consider if you would be able to save on cannabis costs by getting one.