How To Get A Medical Marijuana Card in Utah 2021

Are You Ready to Start Growing Yourself?

If you're ready to start growing and want to find out the best seedbanks that ship to the U.S. click here.

In Growing Marijuana in Utah – UT Cannabis State Laws (2021) we gave a brief overview on how Utah residents can apply to their state’s medical marijuana program. Recreational marijuana is still illegal in The Beehive State so if you are a patient with a debilitating condition there are a few reasons that you may want to consider registering for a medical marijuana card.

Overview of Medical Marijuana in Utah

In February 2018, Utah narrowly allowed the use of medical marijuana through HB 195. However, the law only gives terminally ill patients the “right to try” cannabis medication. Ultimately, medical marijuana was allowed for patients with qualifying conditions through the Utah Medical Cannabis Act which was later expanded by HB 3001.

You can read up on the law here: 26-61a. Utah Medical Cannabis Act.

Utah’s medical marijuana law allows patients to purchase a 30-day supply of cannabis. If in the form of “unprocessed cannabis”, the weight should not exceed 113 grams. Other legal forms include tablets, capsules, concentrated oils, topical preparations, transdermal preparations, sublingual preparations, or in a liquid suspension, or as a gelatinous cube or lozenge, as long as the amount of THC does not exceed 20 grams per single dose. Home cultivation is no longer allowed after December 2018.

Qualifying conditions 

To qualify, a patient must have at least one of the following conditions:

  • ALS (Lou Gehrig’s disease)
  • Alzheimer’s disease
  • Autism
  • Cachexia
  • Cancer
  • Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Epilepsy or a similar condition that causes “debilitating seizures”
  • Multiple sclerosis or persistent and debilitating muscle spasms
  • Nausea (must be persistent)
  • Pain lasting longer than two weeks that is not adequately managed despite treatment attempts
  • PTSD “that is being treated or monitored by a licensed mental health therapist”
  • Any terminal illness where life expectancy is less than six months
  • Any condition resulting in hospice care
  • Any rare condition that affects fewer than 200,000 persons in the United States as defined by Section 526 of the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act and is not adequately managed despite treatment attempts

If your condition is not listed above, you may consult with a physician to see if your health issue that causes chronic pain will get better with the use of medical marijuana. If you are able to get a written certification from your healthcare provider, you may be able to get  medical marijuana without breaking the law.

Unlike in other states, only minors aged 18 to 21 afflicted with a qualifying condition may register for Utah’s medical marijuanas program but even then, they still need to submit a petition to the Compassionate Use Board for approval.

Caregivers

Those who want to apply as a caregiver in Utah must be a resident at least 21 years of age and meet the criminal history record eligibility standards for approval. Patients may designate up to 2 caregivers. 

Why should you get a marijuana card in Utah

Since recreational cannabis is still illegal in Utah, getting a medical marijuana card is the only way adult and minor patients can use marijuana in the state.   

How to get a medical marijuana card in Utah

Applying to Utah’s medical marijuana program is fairly simple. You can submit your completed forms, requirements and payment online or by US mail. If you are qualified and would like to apply, here are the steps you should follow:

For patients, minor patients, and caregivers

  1. Schedule a consultation with a qualified medical provider (QMP) registered with the Utah Department of Health. 
  2. Review the application guides for the different kinds of applications: Patient, Guardian or Provisional Patient, and Caregiver.
  3. Create a profile on the Utah Medical Cannabis Program EVS and provide all the needed information and requirements. Once you’ve submitted your profile, your  QMP should complete their section of the application which includes the recommendation for medical cannabis treatment.
  4. Pay the $15 fee (patient) or $68.25 (caregiver) with a valid credit card.

The Utah Medical Marijuana Program will approve or deny an application in 15 days of your submission. However, for minor patients, the application review process may take up to 90 days or less from the date of submission since these applications must be reviewed by the Compassionate Use Board.

Frequently Asked Questions on Getting a Utah Medical Marijuana Card

Why do I need to medical marijuana card?

Having a Utah medical marijuana ID card is the only way patients in the state with a debilitating condition will be able to legally use medical marijuana.

Who is eligible for medical marijuana card?

Patients in Utah who have at least one qualifying condition may get a recommendation from a state licensed qualified medical provider for medical marijuana.

Why would I want a medical marijuana card?

A medical marijuana card is the only way patients with a debilitating condition can use cannabis in Utah.

How long does the process take?

It can take up to 15 days for your Utah medical marijuana card application to be approved or declined. However, the application review process for minor applicants may take up to 90 days or less from the date of submission since these applications must be reviewed by the Compassionate Use Board.

How much does it cost to obtain a medical marijuana card?

It costs $15 for a patient to apply for a medical marijuana card in Utah. For caregivers, it is $68.25.

How many plants can I grow with medical marijuana card?

Home cultivation of medical marijuana is no longer allowed in Utah after December 2018.

How much marijuana can I keep with medical marijuana card?

Utah’s medical marijuana law allows patients to purchase a 30-day supply of cannabis. If in the form of “unprocessed cannabis”, the weight should not exceed 113 grams. Other legal forms include tablets, capsules, concentrated oils, topical preparations, transdermal preparations, sublingual preparations, or in a liquid suspension, or as a gelatinous cube or lozenge, as long as the amount of THC does not exceed 20 grams per single dose.

Conclusion

If you’re a patient in Utah who needs marijuana for your condition, your only option would be to register for a medical marijuana card. Fortunately, the program has been expanded to include a number of other qualifying conditions such as chronic pain and compared to other states, the fees are not as high. If you are applying for a minor, just make sure to give ample time to apply since it will still have to be reviewed by the Compassionate Use Board and will thus take longer.

Thinking About Growing Your Own?

Check out this post where I go into the details about equipment, seeds and the reasons why I got started in this journey.

Leave a Comment