How To Get A Medical Marijuana Card in North Dakota 2021

Are You Ready to Start Growing Yourself?

If you're ready to start growing and want to find out the best seedbanks that ship to the U.S. click here.

In Growing Marijuana in North Dakota – ND Cannabis State Laws (2021) we gave a brief overview on how North Dakota residents can apply to their state’s medical marijuana program. Recreational marijuana is still illegal in the Peace Garden State so if you are a patient with a debilitating condition you don’t have a choice but to get a medical marijuana card.

Overview of Medical Marijuana in North Dakota

In 2016, North Dakotans voted in favor of Measure 5 that allowed registered patients with qualifying conditions to use medical marijuana. However, the provision to cultivate at home was removed in 2017 following the passage of SB 2344. The changes also specified that the patient may only use medical marijuana in smokable form if their certifying physician specifically recommended it.

You can read up on North Dakota medical marijuana rules here: Measure 5: North Dakota Compassionate Care Act, NDCC Chapter 19-24.1, NDAC Chapter 33-44-01

North Dakota’s medical marijuana now allows patients to purchase up to 3 ounces but they may only possess a total of 2000 milligrams of THC within 30 days. Home cultivation is still not allowed.

Qualifying conditions 

To qualify, a patient must have at least one of the following conditions:

  • Agitation from Alzheimer’s disease or related dementia
  • Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
  • Anorexia nervosa
  • Anxiety disorder
  • Autism spectrum disorder
  • Brain injury
  • Bulimia nervosa
  • Cachexia or Wasting syndrome
  • Cancer
  • Chronic or debilitating disease
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Ehlers-Danlos syndrome
  • Endometriosis
  • Epilepsy
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Glaucoma
  • Hepatitis C
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Interstitial cystitis
  • Intractable nausea
  • Neuropathy
  • Migraine
  • Multiple sclerosis
  • Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
  • Rheumatoid arthritis
  • Seizures
  • Severe and persistent muscle spasms
  • Severe debilitating pain
  • Spinal stenosis
  • Tourette syndrome

To qualify, your physician must certify that you have at least one qualifying condition. Unfortunately, there is no way to petition additional qualifying conditions at this time.

Patients under the age of 19 may also apply to North Dakota’s Medical Cannabis Program as long as they do it with the help and permission of their parents or legal guardians. They are also required to have at least one caregiver.

Caregivers

Those who wish to apply as a primary caregiver in North Dakota must be at least 21 years of age or older and not be convicted of a felony. They may assist only up to 5 patients at a time.

Why should you get a marijuana card in North Dakota

Since recreational marijuana is still illegal in North Dakota, a medical marijuana card is the only way patients can legally buy and use cannabis for their conditions.

How to get a medical marijuana card in North Dakota

Applying to North Dakota’s medical marijuana program is fairly simple and can be done completely online or sent via mail. If you are qualified and would like to apply, here are the steps you should follow:

For patients, minor patients, and caregivers

  1. Create and validate an account on the North Dakota Medical Marijuana Program portal. Be prepared to provide the following requirements:
    • A clear digital photo
    • Scanned copy of state-issued ID which can be a driver’s license or non-driver photo ID.
    • In addition to this, caregivers need to provide the completed criminal background check and 10-digit barcode number of the patient.
  2. Consult with a physician, APRN or PA licensed to issue a written medical marijuana certification in North Dakota. If your condition qualifies, your healthcare provider will be the one to enter your certification in the system. Make sure to enter your provider’s name and email correctly in the system so that your certification will be linked to your application correctly. Note that you have to have a “bona fide patient-provider relationship” for your provider to approve you, which means you are not seeing the provider solely for the purpose of getting a medical marijuana certification. 
  3. Pay the $50 fee online in the portal or by sending a check or money order to the following address:

ND DoH, Division of Medical Marijuana
600 East Blvd Ave, Dept 301
Bismarck, ND 58505

If you are submitting an application for a minor patient, it is possible for the fee to be waived. To submit a request, consult with the Medical Marijuana Division prior to making a payment.

Once approved, you will be able to access your electronic patient card at https://mmregistration.health.nd.gov/. This e-ID card can be used in the same way as a physical ID card which is typically sent within 2-4 weeks of your application.

Frequently Asked Questions on Getting a North Dakota Medical Marijuana Card

Why do I need to medical marijuana card?

Having a North Dakota medical marijuana ID card is the only way patients in the state with a debilitating condition will be able to legally use medical marijuana.

Who is eligible for medical marijuana card?

Patients in North Dakota who have at least one qualifying condition may apply for a medical marijuana card.

Why would I want a medical marijuana card?

Since recreational cannabis is still illegal in North Dakota, a medical marijuana card is the only way patients with a debilitating condition can use cannabis in the state.

How long does the process take?

It can take the North Dakota Medical Marijuana Program 2 to 4 weeks 7 to 10 days send your medical marijuana card after reviewing your application but you may use the electronic ID generated in the BioTrackTHC system.

How much does it cost to obtain a medical marijuana card?

It costs $50 to register into North Dakota’s Medical Marijuana Program but for minor patients, this fee can be waived.

How many plants can I grow with medical marijuana card?

Home cultivation of both recreational and medical marijuana is still illegal in North Dakota.

How much marijuana can I keep with medical marijuana card?

North Dakota’s medical marijuana now allows patients to purchase up to 3 ounces but they may only possess a total of 2000 milligrams of THC within 30 days. Home cultivation is still not allowed.

Conclusion

If you’re a patient in North Dakota who needs marijuana for your condition, your only option would be to apply to the state’s medical marijuana program. Thankfully enough, the cost is only $50 and the application process is fairly simple. However, you do need to get your certification from a physician that you have a bona fide patient-provider relationship with and this can be costly if your current doctor is not licensed to issue a medical marijuana certification.

Thinking About Growing Your Own?

Check out this post where I go into the details about equipment, seeds and the reasons why I got started in this journey.

Leave a Comment