In Growing Marijuana in Nevada – NV Cannabis State Laws (2021) we gave a brief overview on how Nevada residents can apply to their state’s medical marijuana program. Recreational marijuana has been legal in the state since 2017 but there are a few compelling reasons why patients with debilitating conditions would want to register for a medical marijuana card.
Overview of Medical Marijuana in Nevada
In 1998, Nevadans voted in favor of a ballot measure to legalize medical marijuana. Named “The Nevada Medical Marijuana Act” it passed the vote again in 2000 as a requirement for measures that would amend the state constitution. Medical use officially became legal with the passage of Assembly Bill 453 in 2001.
You can read up on the rules here: CHAPTER 453A – MEDICAL USE OF MARIJUANA.
Nevada’s medical marijuana law allows registered patients and their caregivers to jointly possess up to 2.5 ounces. They may also cultivate up to 12 mature or immature plants at home, provided that:
- There are no dispensaries within 25 miles.
- The patient is unable to travel to a dispensary due to their condition or lack of transportation.
- The dispensaries in the patient’s county do not have the strain of marijuana necessary for the patient’s condition.
- Anxiety disorders
- Autism spectrum disorders
- Autoimmune disorders
- AIDS / HIV
- Chronic pain
- Opioid dependency
- Muscle spasms or seizures
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Neuropathic conditions (whether or not the condition causes seizures)
- Severe nausea or pain
- Other conditions are subject to approval
Even patients under 18 afflicted with a qualifying condition that needs medical marijuana can register for the program, as long as they do so with the help of their parents or legal guardians. However, online registration for patients 17 and below is currently unavailable and parents or legal guardians who would like to get a medical marijuana card for their child will have to contact the Medical Marijuana Registry at 775-687-7594.
Patients in Nevada under 18, or those who are too ill to provide care for themselves may designate a caregiver to assist them. For minor patients, having a caregiver is a must. To be eligible as a Nevada patient caregiver, you have to be:
- A resident at least 18 years old
- Must be approved by the patient’s physician
- Must not be a caregiver for another patient
Why should you get a medical marijuana card in Nevada?
Even though recreational marijuana is legal in Nevada, those who need marijuana for their debilitating conditions may want to register into the state’s Medical Cannabis Registry Program to increase their possession limits. An MMR card is the only way minor patients can legally use cannabis for their debilitating conditions. Furthermore, medical marijuana is only subject to the 4.6% statewide sales tax.
How to get a medical marijuana card in Nevada
The process of registering into Nevada’s Medical Marijuana Registry Program is fairly straightforward. You can submit your application online or by US mail. Here are the steps you need to take to get a Nevada MMCR card:
For patients and caregivers
- Get a recommendation from a physician who is licensed under NRS 630 or NRS 633 to sign a “Physician’s Statement”. This means either a medical doctor or osteopathic doctor licensed to practice in Nevada. Your healthcare provider should also sign the Attending Healthcare Provider Statement, sign and date the Acknowledgment and Waiver pages, and provide a copy of the front and back of their state issued ID.
- Go to the Online Registry at https://mmportal.nv.gov/Account/Login and register as a cardholder. Follow the instructions on the page to begin your application.
- Once you are able to login, provide the required information and documents. You will need to provide a valid ID (Nevada Driver’s License or State ID). You can also add your caregiver’s information and valid IDs in the Online Cardholder Registry.
- Pay the registration fee using a credit card to complete your online application.
Division of Public and Behavioral Health
Medical Marijuana Registry
4150 Technology Way, Suite 101
Carson City, NV 89706
You may also request an application from the DPBH, but this costs $25. Meanwhile, the cost of an initial registration or a renewal is $75.00. Additionally, the registration term may be determined by your Healthcare Provider. This will be indicated on the Healthcare Provider Statement and the fees for a 1-year registration term is $50.
If you’re a patient in Nevada who needs medical marijuana for your debilitating condition, you might want to get an MMCR card since it will increase your possession limits. Also, the cost of application into the Nevada Medical Marijuana Registry Program is fairly cheap, totaling at less than $100, but the medical marijuana you can buy with it will be exempted from the 10% excise tax. Furthermore, a medical marijuana card is the only way minors in Nevada will be able to use cannabis for their debilitating condition.