In Growing Marijuana in Missouri – MO Cannabis State Laws (2021) we gave a brief overview on how Missouri residents can apply to their state’s medical marijuana program. Recreational marijuana is still illegal but decriminalized in the Show-Me State so if you are a patient with a debilitating condition, you really need to get a medical marijuana card.
Overview of Medical Marijuana in Missouri
In 2018, Missouri residents voted in favor of Amendment 2, a ballot measure that sought to legalize medical marijuana.However, the first licensed sales did not happen until October 17, 2020. By this time there were already 192 licensed dispensaries in the state.
You can read up on the rules here: Article XIV Section 1: Right to Access Medical Marijuana.
Missouri’s medical marijuana law allows registered patients to purchase up to 4 ounces every 30 days. They may also cultivate up to 6 mature cannabis plants. The growing limit per household is 12 mature plants regardless if there are more than 2 patients living there.
- Alzheimer’s disease (agitation related to)
- Any terminal illness
- Crohn’s disease
- Chronic pain/neuropathy
- Hepatitis C
- HIV/AIDS or cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Huntington’s disease
- Intractable migraines
- Lou Gehrig’s disease
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Opioid substitution
- Parkinson’s disease
- PTSD or other “debilitating psychiatric disorders”
- Tourette syndrome
- Sickle cell anemia
- Any “other chronic, debilitating or other medical condition” that may be alleviated by marijuana “in the professional judgement of a physician”
Even patients under 18 afflicted with a qualifying condition that needs medical marijuana can register for the program, as long as they do so with the help of their parents or legal guardians.
Patients who are too ill to take care of themselves may designate a caregiver to assist them in purchasing, transporting, and cultivating marijuana. For minor patients, it is a requirement and the caregiver must be their parent or legal guardian. A caregiver for medical marijuana in Missouri must be at least 21 years old. A caregiver can have up to 3 patients under them while a patient may designate up to two caregivers.
Why should you get a medical marijuana card in Missouri?
Since adult-use marijuana is still illegal in Missouri, those who need cannabis for their debilitating conditions will have to register with the state’s Medical Marijuana Program. It is also the only way minor patients can legally use cannabis for their debilitating conditions.
How to get a medical marijuana card in Missouri
The process of registering into the Missouri Medical Marijuana Program is fairly straightforward. You can submit your application online through the Complia Application Portal which is the state’s official medical marijuana portal. At this time, all applications must be submitted through the Complia portal.
Here are the steps you need to take to get a Missouri MMP card:
- Set an appointment with an MD or DO licensed to recommend medical marijuana in Missouri and get a completed Physician Certification Form. You can also submit an Electronic Physician Certification Form.
- Go to the Complia Application Portal and create an account. Make sure you have the following requirements ready for upload:
- Proof of residence. This can be a Missouri Driver’s License, State ID, motor vehicle registration, or utility bill.
- State or federal photo ID
- For minor patients: a completed Parent/Legal Guardian Consent Form.
- Optional: statement indicating that the patient is receiving assistance from any Missouri programs for low-income individuals.
- Provide the necessary information and pay the registration fee using a credit card.
- Caregivers also need to create an account on the Complia Application Portal and submit their requirements there. In addition to Proof of Residence, valid state or federal issued photo ID, they also need to submit a completed Patient Authorization Form.
The cost of a patient and caregiver application and renewal is $25.94 while for patient cultivators it is $103.73. You may check on the status of your application in the Complia portal which is typically processed within 30 days.
Frequently Asked Questions on Getting a Missouri Medical Marijuana Card
Patients in Missouri with debilitating conditions have to register into the state’s Medical Marijuana Program if they want to legally use marijuana. An MMJ card will allow registered patients to cultivate up to six (6) mature or immature plants at home.
Patients in Missouri with at least one of the qualifying conditions below are eligible for a medical marijuana card:
Alzheimer’s disease (agitation related to)
Any terminal illness
HIV/AIDS or cachexia or wasting syndrome
Lou Gehrig’s disease
PTSD or other “debilitating psychiatric disorders”
Sickle cell anemia
Any “other chronic, debilitating or other medical condition” that may be alleviated by marijuana “in the professional judgement of a physician”
A medical marijuana card is the only way minor patients with a debilitating condition can use cannabis in Missouri. It will also allow patients to cultivate up to 6 mature plants.
In Missouri, it will take up to 30 days for your application to be processed in the Complia Portal.
The cost of a patient and caregiver application and renewal in Missouri’s medical marijuana program is $25.94 while for patient cultivators it is $103.73.
Medical marijuana patients in Missouri may grow up to six mature plants.
Patients registered in Missouri medical marijuana program may purchase up to 4 ounces every 30 days.
If you’re a patient in Missouri who needs medical marijuana for your debilitating condition, you’ll want to get an MMJ card since it is the only way to legally possess, purchase and cultivate cannabis in the state. The cost of application into Missouri’s Medical Marijuana Program is fairly cheap, but it does get expensive once you apply for cultivation. Nevertheless, it is the only option for patients, especially for those under 18 to get marijuana for their debilitating condition.