In Growing Marijuana in Michigan – MI Cannabis State Laws (2021) we gave a brief overview on how Michigan residents can apply to their state’s medical marijuana program. Recreational marijuana has been legal in the Great Lake State since 2018 but if you are a patient with a debilitating condition, there are a few reasons why you may want to get an MMMP card.
Overview of Medical Marijuana in Michigan
In 2008, Michigan became the first Midwestern state to legalize the use of medical marijuana for seriously ill patients by passing Proposal 1, also known as the Michigan Compassionate Care Initiative. While this allowed patients to cultivate medical marijuana for themselves, it wasn’t until 2016 that Gov. Rick Snyder signed a package of bills that included various reforms such as legalizing the operation of dispensaries and the use of non-smokable forms of marijuana.
You can read up on the rules here: Michigan Medical Marihuana Act – Initiated Law 1 of 2008..
Michigan’s medical marijuana law allows registered patients to possess 2.5 ounces on their person and up to 10 ounces at home. The state also has a generous cultivation limit of 12 plants for both medical and recreational use.
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Cerebral palsy
- Chronic pain
- Crohn’s disease
- HIV or AIDS
- Inflammatory Bowel Disease
- Hepatitis C
- Nail patella
- Obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD)
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Rheumatoid arthritis
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms
- Spinal cord injury
- Tourette’s syndrome
- Ulcerative colitis
Even patients under 18 afflicted with a qualifying condition that needs medical marijuana can register for the program, as long as they do so with the help of their parents or legal guardians.
Those who want to apply as a caregiver in Michigan must be at least 21 years of age and must not have been convicted of a drug or violent felony, or any felony within the last 10 years. Patients are not required to have a designated caregiver but they may only have one if they choose to do so. A minor is required to have at least one which should be the parent or legal guardian. On the other hand, caregivers are allowed to service up to five patients.
Why should you get a medical marijuana card in Michigan?
Although recreational marijuana is already legal in Michigan, minors with debilitating conditions will only be able use cannabis if they have an MMMP card. Medical marijuana is also only subject to statewide sales tax but not excise tax.
How to get a medical marijuana card in Michigan
The process of registering into Michigan’s Medical Marijuana Program is fairly straightforward and can be done online or you can also fill out a form and submit it via US mail. Here are the steps on how to become a registered patient or caregiver in Michigan:
For adult and minor patients and caregivers
- Consult with an MD or DO who is licensed to recommend marijuana in Michigan. If your condition qualifies for medical cannabis, your physician can provide you a certification online or on your Patient Application Packet.
- Create a “Patient Only” account on the Accela Citizen’s Access portal or fill out an MMMP Application Packet. Use the Minor Application Packet for patients under 18.
- Make sure you have a copy of the following for upload:
- Proof of residency. This can be a Michigan Driver’s License, Personal ID, MI Voter’s registration and a valid government-issued document with name and birthdate.
- Your Michigan Physician’s License Number if registering online. If your physician has an online account with the MMMP, the system will automatically provide their information.
- Provide all the required information and documents and pay the registration fee using a credit card. The registration cost is only $40.
After completing your online application, your physician has 15 days to complete their portion of your application if you picked “My Physician will approve me online. If you chose the option to upload a certification, you just need to wait for the MMMP to review your application within 15 business days.
Caregivers do not need to apply but rather, they must be designated by their patient. Caregiver information can only be submitted to the MMMP using the Add or Change Caregiver form after the patient’s registration is already approved.
Frequently Asked Questions on Getting a Michigan Medical Marijuana Card
Although recreational marijuana is already legal in Michigan, minor patients still need to register into the MMMP to be able to legally use cannabis for their debilitating condition. Adult patient who would like to save at the dispensary may also want to get a Michigan medical marijuana card so they won’t have to pay the additional excise tax.
Patients in Michigan with at least one qualifying condition may get a recommendation for medical marijuana.
A medical marijuana card is the only way patients under 18 with a debilitating condition can use cannabis in Michigan.
It can take your physician up to 15 days to give you a certification and another 15 days for the MMMP to approve your application.
It costs $40 to apply for a medical marijuana card in Michigan.
The home growing limit for medical and recreational marijuana is the same: 12 plants per person.
Patients registered in Michigan’s medical marijuana program may possess 2.5 ounces on their person and up to 10 ounces at home.
If you’re a minor patient in Michigan who needs medical marijuana for your debilitating condition, you have no choice but to register into the state’s medical cannabis program. However, for adults, getting an MMMP card is just an option as the limits for medical and recreational are almost the same. Furthermore, the growing limit is already fairly generous at 12 plants. However, if home cultivation is not an option for you, applying for a medical marijuana at just $40 may help you save when buying at the dispensary.