In Growing Marijuana in Maryland – MD Cannabis State Laws (2021) we gave a brief overview on how Maryland residents can apply to their state’s medical marijuana program. Recreational marijuana is still illegal in the Old Line State so if you are a patient with a debilitating condition and want to use medical marijuana, you have no choice but to get an MMCC card.
Overview of Medical Marijuana in Maryland
In 2014, Maryland governor Martin O’Malley signed into law HB 881 which established a medical marijuana program in the state. Previously, patients could only get medical cannabis through academic medical centers under HB 1101. In 2015, HB 881 was revised by HB 490, which required patients to take part in academic research to qualify for marijuana. It was only in 2017 that the medical marijuana program became fully operational and dispensaries opened to sell to all registered patients.
You can read up on the rules here: Chapter 240 (House Bill 881).
Maryland’s medical marijuana law allows registered patients to purchase a 30-day supply and this amount is determined by the provider. At present, edibles and home cultivation are still not allowed in the state.
- Cachexia, Anorexia, or Wasting Syndrome
- Chronic or severe pain
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Severe or persistent muscle spasms
- Severe nausea
- Another chronic medical condition which is severe and for which other treatments have been ineffective.
Even patients under 18 afflicted with a qualifying condition that needs medical marijuana can register for the program, as long as they do so with the help of their parents or legal guardians.
Those who want to apply as a caregiver in Maryland must be at least 21 years of age. For minor patients, only their parents or legal guardian may be designated as their caregiver. Patients may have up to two caregivers while caregivers may serve up to five patients.
Why should you get a mdical marijuana card in Maryland?
Being a registered patient in Maryland’s Medical Cannabis Program is the only way a patient with a debilitating condition can legally buy and use marijuana in the state.
How to get a medical marijuana card in Maryland
The process of registering into Maryland’s Medical Cannabis Program is fairly straightforward and can be done completely online. However, you must complete and submit your application in one session, otherwise you will have to start again from the beginning. Here are the steps on how to become a registered patient or caregiver in state:
- Make sure you have a digital copy of the following documents:
- A valid government-issued ID
- Proof of Maryland residence if the ID you provide is not a Maryland driver’s license, MVA ID Card OR does not show a Maryland address, you must also provide two of the following documents which should be dated within the last 90 days:
- MVA registration card or title
- Utility, telephone or cable/satellite TV bill
- Bank account statement
- Property tax bill
- Mortgage statement or proof of home ownership (Deed, Title, Bill of Sale)
- Major credit card bill (Visa, MasterCard, Wal-Mart, Target, etc.)
- Residential rental contract (lease or rental contract between landlord and tenant which includes all signatures).
- Selective Service Card
- Federal, state or local government mail issued by the state of Maryland (ie. Social Security, social services)
- Car insurance policy
- For applications of patients under 18:
- Proof of the caregiver’s guardianship of the minor patient. This can be the patient’s birth certificate, adoption certificate or a court order awarding guardianship.
- An electronic copy of the completed and notarized Minor Patient Form
- If applying for a waived fee, submit the following:
- U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs ID Card
- Maryland Medical Assistance Card with either a A Certificate of Creditable Coverage or An Eligibility Determination Letter from the Maryland Health Connection.
- Visit the MMCC registry in the OneStop Portal and create an account. Provide all the required information and submit the necessary documents. You may also designate a caregiver within the portal at this point.
- Once your submission is approved by the MMCC, get a certification from a provider (physician). You may print a temporary MMCC card and use it to buy medical marijuana along with a provider valid certification
Those who wish to apply as a caregiver for a medical marijuana patient in Maryland will also need to register with the MMCC through the OneStop Portal. They will also need to provide the same identification documents and pay a $50 fee for a caregiver card.
Applications are typically processed within 30 days and the cost of registering is $50 but this can be waived for veterans and Medicaid recipients.
Frequently Asked Questions on Getting a Maryland Medical Marijuana Card
Since recreational marijuana is still illegal in Maryland, patients who need to use cannabis for their debilitating conditions will need to apply for a medical marijuana card.
Patients in Maryland with at least one qualifying condition may get a recommendation for medical marijuana.
A medical marijuana card is the only way patients, adult or under 18, with a debilitating condition can use cannabis in Maryland.
In Maryland, you will be able to buy medical marijuana right after your application is approved and you get your certification from your provider.
It costs $50 to apply for a medical marijuana card in Maryland but this can be waived as long as the patient can submit either a U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs ID Card or a Maryland Medical Assistance Card with either a Certificate of Creditable Coverage or an Eligibility Determination Letter from the Maryland Health Connection.
Home cultivation of medical marijuana is still not legal in Maryland.
Patients registered in Maryland’s medical marijuana program may purchase a 30-day supply and this amount is determined by the provider.
If you’re an adult or minor patient in Maryland who needs medical marijuana for your debilitating condition, you have no choice but to register into the state’s medical cannabis program. Compared to other states that only allow medical marijuana, the registration fee in Maryland is quite reasonable at $50 and this amount can even be waived. The registration process is also fairly straightforward, you merely need to submit all the requirements and wait for the MMCC’s approval, then get a provider certification.